Coalition Urges Congress to Keep BCA Spending limits in Place – Club for Growth signs on!


September 16, 2015

Dear Member of Congress:

On behalf of our organizations and the millions of members we represent,
we urge you to ensure that any legislation providing discretionary funding
for Fiscal Year 2016 adhere to the discretionary spending levels set forth
by the Budget Control Act of 2011 (BCA).

Congress passed the BCA with bipartisan support and a promise to cap
overall discretionary spending every year for the following decade. Even
with these modest spending limits, discretionary spending will still
increase in 2016 and every year thereafter.

Since its implementation, the BCA has been a rare victory for fiscal
responsibility in Washington and has helped to control the growth of
government spending and reduce deficits. Sadly, though not surprisingly,
some in Washington want to abandon the BCA caps in order to spend
more taxpayer money and add to the growing debt burden for current and
future generations.

Facing an $18 trillion national debt, abandoning these modest spending
limits by directly breaking the BCA caps or using budget gimmicks to get
around them would be fiscally irresponsible and send a dangerous
message to the American people. Hard-working Americans deserve to
have their policymakers live up to their promises on spending. Under the
BCA, total discretionary budget authority in FY 2016 is capped at $1.016
trillion. Any discretionary spending legislation exceeding that level would
break the promise made to the American taxpayers.


Marc Short, President
Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment

Coley Jackson, President
Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Rick Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government

Brent Gardner, Vice President of Government Affairs
Americans for Prosperity

Grover Norquist, President
Americans for Tax Reform

Norm Singleton, Senior Vice President
Campaign for Liberty

Andrew F. Quinlan, President
Center for Freedom & Prosperity

Tom Schatz, President
Citizens Against Government Waste

David McIntosh, President
Club for Growth

Jonathan Bydlak, President
Coalition to Reduce Spending

Lawson Bader, Executive Director
Competitive Enterprise Institute

Pete Hegseth, CEO
Concerned Veterans for America

Penny Nance, President and CEO
Concerned Woman for America

Adam Brandon, President and CEO

Andrew Clark, President
Generation Opportunity

Mario H. Lopez, President
Hispanic Leadership Fund

Heather R. Higgins, President and CEO
Independent Women’s Voice

Carrie Lukas, Managing Director
Independent Women’s Forum

Daniel Garza, Executive Director
The Libre Initiative

Brandon Arnold, Executive Vice President
National Taxpayer Union

Andrew Moylan, Executive Director
R Street Institute

Steve Ellis, Vice President
Taxpayers for Common Sense

Paul J. Gessing, President
Rio Grande Foundation