Conservative Coalition Urges Support for Scalise/McKinley Anti-Carbon Tax Resolution


41 Conservative Groups Urge Support for Scalise/McKinley Anti-Carbon Tax Resolution


July 17, 2018

Dear Members of Congress:

The undersigned organizations urge you to vote for H.Con.Res 119, introduced by Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) and Congressman David McKinley (R-W.V.), which expresses the sense of the Congress that a carbon tax would be detrimental to the U.S. economy.

We oppose any carbon tax. We oppose a carbon tax because it would lead to less income and fewer jobs for American families.

For example, a 2014 Heritage Foundation report found that a $37 per ton carbon tax would lead to a loss of more than $2.5 trillion in aggregate gross domestic product by 2030. That is more than $21,000 in income loss per family.

In addition, a carbon tax would cost over 500,000 jobs in manufacturing and more than one million jobs by 2030. According to a 2013 CBO report, a carbon tax is highly regressive.

After President Trump signed the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act into law on December 22, 2017, more than 90 percent of wage earners have had higher take-home pay.

At least 600 companies of all sizes have already announced special bonuses, pay raises, 401(k) match increases, tuition assistance, new training programs and other benefits for workers.

Thanks to the GOP tax cuts, utility companies are lowering rates, which means lower bills for consumers.

A carbon tax would reverse many of these successes.

We support the House Concurrent Resolution in opposition to a job-killing carbon tax and urge members to vote for this resolution.


  • Grover Norquist | President, Americans for Tax Reform
  • James L. Martin, Founder/Chairman | 60 Plus Association
  • Saulius “Saul” Anuzis, President | 60 Plus Association
  • Phil Kerpen | President, American Commitment
  • Matt Schlapp | Chairman, American Conservative Unioon
  • Tom Pyle| President, American Energy Alliance
  • Brent Wm. Gardner | Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity
  • Lisa B. Nelson | CEO, ALEC Action
  • Norm Singleton | President, Campaign for Liberty
  • Andrew F. Quinlan | President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity
  • Jeffrey Mazzella | President, Center for Individual Freedom
  • Olivia Grady| Senior Fellow, Center for Worker Freedom
  • David McIntosh | President, Club for Growth
  • Kent Lassman | President, Competitive Enterprise Institute
  • Matthew Kandrach | President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy
  • Thomas Schatz | President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste
  • Katie McAuliffe | Executive Director, Digital Liberty
  • Craig Richardson | President, Energy & Environmental Legal Institute
  • Alex Ayers | Executive Director, Family Business for Affordable Energy
  • Matt Kiibbe | President, Free the People
  • Annette Meeks | CEO, Freedom Foundation of Minnesota
  • Jason Pye | Vice President of Legislative Affairs, FreedomWorks
  • George Landrith | President, Frontiers of Freedom
  • Tim Huelskamp PhD |President and CEO, The Heartland Institute
  • Mario H. Lopez |President, Hispanic Leadership Fund
  • Amy Oliver Cooke | Executive Vice President, Independence Institute
  • Carrie L. Lukas | President, Independent Women’s Forum
  • Heather R. Higgins | CEO, Independent Women’s Voice
  • Sal J. Nuzzo | Vice President of Policy, The James Madison Institute
  • Becki Gray | Senior Vice President, John Locke Foundation
  • Seton Motley | President, Less Government
  • Matthew Gagnon | Chief Executive Officer, Maine Heritage Policy Center
  • Brett Healy | President, The MacIver Institute for Public Policy
  • Daniel J. Erspamer | CEO, Pelican Institute for Public Policy
  • Lorenzo Montanari | Executive Director, Property Rights Aliance
  • Mike Stenhouse | CEO, Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity
  • Paul Gessing | President, Rio Grande Foundation
  • David Williams | President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance
  • Judson Phillips | Founder, Tea Party Nation
  • Michael W. Thompson | President, Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy
  • Amy Kremer | Co-Chair, Women for Trump

Becky Norton Dunlop | Former Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia