Club for Growth Announces 2021 Defender of Economic Freedom Awards


Washington, D.C. – Club for Growth announced that 54 Members of the United States House of Representatives and six United States Senators will receive the Club for Growth’s Defender of Economic Freedom Award for 2021.

The award is based on the Club for Growth Foundation’s 2021 Congressional Economic Scorecard, the gold-standard in measuring the voting behavior of Members of Congress based on issues relating to limited government and economic growth. Club for Growth’s Defender of Economic Freedom Award required Representatives and Senators to not only score 90% or better on votes cast in a year, but to also maintain a lifetime rating of at least 90% to receive the award. You can check out the full scorecard here.

“We congratulate the 60 Senators and Members of Congress who earned Club for Growth’s Defender of Economic Freedom Award for fighting for policies that advance limited government and prosperity,” said Club for Growth President David McIntosh. “Meanwhile Democrats have become more radicalized and partisan than ever despite many of them claiming to be ‘moderate.’”

Highlights from the Club for Growth Foundation’s 2021 Congressional Scorecard:

Senate Defenders of Economic Freedom (6): Mike Braun, Ted Cruz, Mike Lee, Rand Paul, Tommy Tuberville, and Pat Toomey

2021 Senate 100% Scores (6): Ted Cruz, Josh Hawley, Mike Lee, Rand Paul, Rick Scott, and Tommy Tuberville

2021 House Defenders of Economic Freedom (54): Jim Banks, Andy Biggs, Dan Bishop, Lauren Boebert, Ken Buck, Ted Budd, Tim Burchett, Kat Cammack, Jerry Carl, Ben Cline, Michael Cloud, Andrew Clyde, Madison Cawthorn, Warren Davidson, Bryon Donalds, Jeff Duncan, Beth Van Duyne, Pat Fallon, Scott Fitzgerald, Scott Franklin, Russ Fulcher, Louie Gohmert, Bob Good, Lance Gooden, Paul Gosar, Mark Green, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Yvette Herrell, Diana Harshbarger, Kevin Hern, Jody Hice, Ronny Jackson, Jim Jordan, Fred Keller, Doug Lamborn, Jake LaTurner, Nancy Mace, Tracey Mann, Thomas Massie, Lisa McClain, Tom McClintock, Mary Miller, Barry Moore, Troy Nehls, Ralph Norman, Scott Perry, August Pfluger, Gary Palmer, John Rose, Matt Rosendale, Chip Roy, Greg Steube, Van Taylor, and William Timmons.

2021 House 100% Scores (28): Jim Banks, Andy Biggs, Dan Bishop, Lauren Boebert, Mo Brooks, Ken Buck, Ted Budd, Andrew Clyde, Byron Donalds, Russ Fulcher, Virginia Foxx, Bob Good, Lance Gooden, Mark Green, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Andy Harris, Yvette Herrell, Jody Hice, Jim Jordan, Tracey Mann, Tom McClintock, Mary Miller, Barry Moore, Ralph Norman, Scott Perry, Matt Rosendale, Chip Roy, and Van Taylor.

2021 Average Senate GOP Score: 76%

2021 Average Senate Democrat Score: <1%

2021 Average House GOP Score: 88%
2021 Average House Democrat: 2.2%

Senate GOP Leadership:

  • Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell: 42%
  • Senate Minority Assistant Leader/GOP Whip Thune: 70%
  • Senate Republican Policy Chairman Roy Blunt: 49%
  • Senate Republican Conference Chairman John Barrasso: 94%
  • National Republican Senatorial Committee Chairman Rick Scott: 100%

House GOP Leadership:
House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy: 85%
House Minority Whip Steve Scalise: 85%
House Minority Conference Chair Elise Stefanik: 78%
House Minority Chief Deputy Whip Drew Ferguson: 85%
House Minority Conference Vice Chairman Mike Johnson: 92%
House Minority Conference Secretary Richard Hudson: 81%
House Republican Policy Committee Chairman Gary Palmer: 92%

House Caucus Chairmen:

House Freedom Caucus Chairman (2021) Andy Biggs: 100%
House Freedom Caucus Chairman (Current) Scott Perry: 100%

Republican Study Committee Chairman Jim Banks: 100%.

Bottom 5 GOP Senators:

  1. Susan Collins – 38%
  2. Lisa Murkowski – 40%
  3. Mitch McConnell – 42%
  4. Lindsay Graham – 46%
  5. Shelley Moore Capito – 49%

Bottom 5 GOP Representatives:

  1. Brian Fitzpatrick – 48%
  2. Chris Smith – 53%
  3. John Katko – 56% (tie) /Jeff Van Drew – 56% (tie)
  4.  Fred Upton – 63%