WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Club for Growth Foundation released its 2019 Congressional Scorecard, the gold-standard in measuring the voting behavior of Members of Congress based on issues relating to limited government and economic growth. Breitbart’s Sean Moran published an exclusive report on the announcement.

40 Members of the United States House of Representatives and six United States Senators will receive the Club for Growth’s Defender of Economic Freedom Award for 2019. In 2018, 20 Members of the United States House of Representatives and five United States Senators received the Club for Growth’s Defender of Economic Freedom Award. Starting in 2011, Club for Growth required Representatives and Senators to not only score 90% or better on votes cast in a year, but to also maintain a lifetime rating of at least 90% to receive the award.

“The Club for Growth Foundation’s annual Congressional Scorecard is the leading tool for activists, investors, and the media to measure how Members of Congress vote on economic policy,” said David Mcintosh, President of Club for Growth. “Every year we have disappointments and surprises, and this year is no different. While it’s good to see more Members earn the title of Defenders of Economic Freedom, there are always a few who stray from supporting economic liberty.”

Highlights from the Club for Growth Foundation’s 2019 Congressional Scorecard

Two United States Senators received a perfect score in 2019, Mike Lee (R-UT) and Mike Braun (R-IN).  Additionally, Ted Cruz (R-TX), Rand Paul (R-KY), Ben Sasse (R-NE), and Pat Toomey (R-PA). had a 2019 score and lifetime score 90% or better to qualify for the Defender of Economic Freedom award.

40 House Members who received scores of 90% or better in 2019 also had lifetime scores of 90% or better to qualify for the Defender of Economic Freedom award.

24 House Members receiving a 100% rating in 2019 were: Representatives Andy Biggs (R-AZ-05), Ken Buck (R-CO-04), Ted Budd (R-NC-13), Ben Cline (R-VA-06), John Curtis (R-UT-03), Warren Davidson (R-OH-08), Jeff Duncan (R-SC-03), Paul Gosar (R-AZ-04), Glenn Grothman (R-WI-06), Jim Jordan (R-OH-04), John Joyce (R-PA-13), Fred Keller (R-PA-12), Tom McClintock (R-CA-04), Mark Meadows (R-NC-11), Ralph Norman (R-SC-05), Gary Palmer (R-AL-06), Scott Perry (R-PA-10), John Ratcliffe (R-TX-04), Chip Roy (R-TX-21), David Schweikert (R-AZ-06), Greg Steube (R-FL-17), Van Taylor (R-TX-03), Mark Walker (R-NC-06), and Ron Wright (R-TX-06). (Glenn Grothman and John Curtis failed to receive the Defender of Economic Freedom Award because their lifetime award is less than 90 percent).

The 18 additional House members receiving a Defender of Economic Freedom award include: Representatives Tim Burchett (R-TN-02), Michael Cloud (R-TX-27), Kevin Hern (R-OK-01), William Timmons (R-SC-04), Jody Hice (R-GA-10), Russ Fulcher (R-ID-01), Lance Gooden (R-TX-05), Mark Green (R-TN-07), Doug Lamborn (R-CO-05), Thomas Massie (R-KY-04), Louis Gohmert (R-TX-01), Steve Chabot (R-OH-01), Bryan Steil (R-WI-01), George Holding (R-NC-02), Andy Harris (R-MD-01), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ-08), Dusty Johnson (R-SD-AL), and Steve Watkins (KS-02).

High ranking Republican leadership scores in 2019 were:

  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (KY), 29%
  • Senate Majority Whip John Thune  (SD), 29%
  • Senate Republican Conference Chairman John Barrasso (WY), 59%
  • Senate Republican Policy Committee Chairman Roy Blunt (MO), 29%
  • House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23), 68%
  • House Minority Whip Steve Scalise (LA-01), 72%
  • House Republican Conference Chair Liz Cheney (WY-AL), 65%

The Average House Republican Score was 79%.

The Average Senate Republican Score was 54%.

High ranking Democrat leadership scores in 2019 were:

  • Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (NY) –5%
  • Senate Minority Whip Dick Durbin – 0%
  • Senate Assistant Democratic Leader Patty Murray – 0%
  • Speaker Nancy Pelosi – 23%
  • House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer – 12%
  • House Majority Whip James Clyburn – 12%

The Average House Democrat Score was 6%.

The Average Senate Democrat Score was 15%.

AOC’s Squad

  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez – 33%
  • Ilhan Omar – 38%
  • Ayanna Pressley – 32%
  • Rashida Tlaib – 25%

The 2019 Congressional Scorecard was produced by the Club for Growth Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization devoted to educating the public about the value of free markets, pro-growth policies and creating economic prosperity. The Scorecard is based on 28 votes taken in the House of Representatives and 15 votes taken in the Senate.