WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Club for Growth today announced Defender of Economic Freedom awards for 16 Idaho State legislators — 16 House members and 0 State Senators — whose voting record distinguished them as champions of economic liberty for their high score on the new Club for Growth Foundation 2019 Idaho State Legislative Scorecard.

Elected officials who, on the Foundation’s scorecard, score 90% or better in a given calendar year and maintain lifetime scores of 90% or better are recognized by the Club for Growth as Defenders of Economic Freedom. Republican state house legislators Kevin Andrus, Randy Armstrong, Vito Barbieri, Chad Christensen, Barbara Ehardt, Priscilla Giddings, John Green, Steven Harris, Ron Mendive, Dorothy Moon, Tammy Nichols, Heather Scott, Thyra Stevenson, Tony Wisniewski, Christy Zito, Bryan Zollinger were all named Defenders of Economic Freedom. 9 of whom received a perfect score of 100% in both their lifetime and annual score.

“The Foundation’s Congressional Scorecard is already the gold-standard in publishing the voting records of Senators and Members of the U.S. House of Representatives on economic legislation, and the State Legislative Scorecards help educate citizens about which elected officials are champions of pro-growth policies at the state level.” said Club for Growth President David McIntosh. “The Foundation looked at a number of important free market votes in the Idaho legislature on issues including taxes, subsidies, regulations, licensing, and tort reform.”

Key Takeaways on Idaho’s 2019 Scorecard:

Idaho Senate

  • Average Republican Score: 50%
  • Average Democrat Score: 28%
  • Highest Rated Republican: Don Cheatham, Sen. Lori Den Hartog, Sen. Steve Vick, all at 72%
  • Lowest Rated Republican: Abby Lee, Sen. Bert Brackett, both at 29%
  • Highest Rated Democrat: Mark Nye, 39%
  • Lowest Rated Democrat: Grant Burgoyne, 18%

Idaho House

  • Average Republican Score: 70%
  • Average Democrat Score: 28%
  • Highest Rated Republican: Nine members with 100%
  • Lowest Rated Republican: Caroline Troy, 32%
  • Highest Rated Democrat: Sue Chew & Rep. Elaine Smith, both at 38%
  • Lowest Rated Democrat: Mathew Erpelding, 17%

The Club for Growth Foundation’s Idaho legislative scorecard is similar to  scorecards that the Foundation previously has released for FloridaMissouriNew MexicoIowaTennesseeTexas, and Virginia as part of its new state legislative vote study initiative. The Club for Growth Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization focused on educating the public about the value of free markets, pro-growth policies, and economic prosperity.